Magda, Book 3 of ‘A Darkly Disturbing Occult Horror Trilogy by Sarah England – A Book Review

Magda

Blurb:

The dark and twisted community of Woodsend harbours a terrible secret – one tracing back to the age of the Elizabethan witch hunts, when many innocent women were persecuted and hanged.
But there is a far deeper vein of horror running through this village; an evil that once invoked has no intention of relinquishing its grip on the modern world. Rather it watches and waits with a focused intelligence, leaving Ward Sister, Becky, and Police Officer, Toby, constantly checking over their shoulders and jumping at shadows.
Just who invited in this malevolent presence? And is the demonic woman who possessed Magda back in the sixteenth century, the same one now gazing at Becky whenever she looks in the mirror?
You may need to sleep with the lights on after reading this…Are you ready to meet Magda in this final instalment to the trilogy? Are you sure?

Author: Sarah England

Publisher: EchoWords

Pages: 227

Release Date: 28/10/2016

Genre: Horror

My Chosen Format: Kindle

My Rating of ‘Magda’ 4 out of 5

Purchase: Amazon UK, Amazon US, Book Depository

 

Review:

I have been hooked on this trilogy ever since reading the blurb for ‘Father of Lies,’ my review of which is here . The whole idea of a patient in a mental facility being possessed by demonic entities was simply too good for the horror fan in me to pass up. I was not disappointed by Father of Lies. It was great.

Tanners Dell (book 2), my review of which is here, I thought was better than Father of lies. It had way more action and just all around horror goodness in it. Now that I have finished Magda, I still think Tanners Dell is the better book of the trilogy but that is not to take away anything from the other two. They are both great, I just found Tanners Dell more exciting.

Following on from the events of the first two books, we focus on the aftermath of all the excitement that made Tanners Dell so interesting. I’m really struggling to say anything without spoiling, but I will do my best.

Much in the same vein as the previous books, shadowy people are working for the greater purpose of furthering the machinations of the ancient evil that dwells with in Tanners Dell/the village of Bridesmoore. In ‘Magda’ we are treated to a separate story alongside the main narrative. Every few chapters the author reverts back a few centuries to tell the tale of a young girl (named Magda in case you hadn’t guessed) and how her life/actions shape the present day.

Admittedly, I did not really see the point of the Magda chapters until the very end. Up until then it doesn’t really feel like it has anything to do with the main storyline and, with the tag line ‘Are you ready to meet Magda’, I simply expected more out of her than I felt I got. But, pushing through to the very end I can see how her chapters were important. It all ties up very nicely.

Although it doesn’t boast as much action as Tanners Dell; Magda does offer a wide range of occult goings on from satanic orgies to other people looking back at you in the mirror. The theme of the unseen demonic presence being all powerful is very strong throughout. Whenever you think the main characters have something sorted or a solid bit of help coming their way, tragedy strikes as quick as a hiccup. At times I honestly couldn’t figure out how they would get out of the situation they were in with their sanity in tact. That’s not to say that they did. Win, lose or draw, you don’t tangle with the ultimate mind warp that is the demonic and come out as sane as you entered.

 The ‘horrory’ bits are written with just enough fright to make those noises in my house seem ominous when reading this in the dark on my kindle. The writing itself is very strong and the research done into the medical side of things is top notch, as with the last two books.

I would have liked an epilogue, sort of detailing how the characters get on in the future. I really wanted certain ones to have their happily ever after and would have liked to know if they got them, but I suppose I can’t have everything. What I did get, however, was three very enjoyable books. Three books that have made it so I want to jump into Sarah England’s next work ‘The Soprano’ when it comes out in August. 

All in all, it’s a heck of a horror trilogy and I would suggest anyone who likes a touch of the demonic should hop onto Amazon and grab yourself the series.

 

11 thoughts on “Magda, Book 3 of ‘A Darkly Disturbing Occult Horror Trilogy by Sarah England – A Book Review

    1. I have turned auto correct off … but now my messages tend to be filled with typos instead.

      Always room for more. After all, book and film lists are endless. I never expect to get through all of my lists 😂

      Was totally planning on watching 2-3 films a week, then I got addicted to watching Red vs Blue again 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This sounds pretty decent for horror… I’m very picky with my horror books but I think this sounds like properly done 🙂
    There is also always the risk with the way a different plotline is entered to the story, even though it ties with the end.. sometimes the feeling of ‘it doesn’t make sense here’ wins over and you detach from the story, and sometimes it gives more anticipation… then again, when it all makes sense in the end, it gives a great feeling of satisfaction 🙂 Glad you enjoyed this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is a good series. Just fell in love with the idea of it. Because, what if people weren’t insane. What if they really were possessed, or able to see things that hid themselves from other people. The idea really intrigues me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, that would make for a great debate… what if, indeed 🙂 and what if as humans we really are dinosaurs right now, after eating leaves from a hallucinogenic tree and are tripping the reality that is now? hahaha 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. hahahahah 😀 a raptor… yeah.. I have been thinking this for a decade now… what if time doesn’t actually exist (well, it exists but what if it is defined differently than what we consider as timekeeping) and that I was one of those gigantic long-necked dinosaurs that’s just on a really bad trip from one of those weird looking prehistoric trees and actually, I am frozen to the spot, half way through munching a moutfhul? 😀 Raptor is a good choice though- they’re fast on their feet- comes in handy in hostile environment 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

